Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

The Pelican Nebula.

Adam J

Ok....ill start by admitting that I thought I was imaging the North American Nebula but missed and never noticed it was the Pelican until the processing.

4 x 10min, ISO 800 frames, no bias, no flats, no darks. Canon 1000D cooled to -4c at the camera sensor using my home made  DSLR cooler box, CLS clip in filter. 130P-DS with a MPCC MK3.

This was first light for my cooled camera and had some teething issues so only for 4 frames before it got light. I am am thinking its quite good considering but not much to reference that against. Also pleased by the noise reduction, not sure darks are required?

Would love any comments on how I could better process it etc, as I am still quite new to astro-photography and only really have CS2.

Pelican-Nebula-Processed-v5.jpg

1 minute ago, StargeezerTim said:

What a good miss!

Thanks Lol, it was a great night, really clear and i was sat messing about with the cool box. By the time I had the bugs ironed out I just grabbed what I could get :). Here is the full image. 

Pelican-Nebula-Processed-v3.jpg

1 hour ago, Adam J said:

Ok....ill start by admitting that I thought I was imaging the North American Nebula but missed and never noticed it was the Pelican until the processing.

4 x 10min, ISO 800 frames, no bias, no lights, no darks. Canon 1000D cooled to -4c at the camera sensor using my home made  DSLR cooler box, CLS clip in filter. 130P-DS with a MPCC MK3.

This was first light for my cooled camera and had some teething issues so only for 4 frames before it got light. I am am thinking its quite good considering but not much to reference that against. Also pleased by the noise reduction, not sure darks are required?

Would love any comments on how I could better process it etc, as I am still quite new to astro-photography and only really have CS2.

Pelican-Nebula-Processed-v5.jpg

"No lights, no bias, no darks"