SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

My Radio Telescope Project

So, I have been interested in learning more about radio astronomy for a while and do tend to read up on it quite a bit. A good friend of mine knows all about this and when he got an upgraded Sky dish asked if he was able to keep the old one, he then gave it to me to look into using it for my hobby and also, maybe, the degree I am starting through open university later in the year.

So I now have a Sky dish, I plan to look at building this into a radio telescope so I can learn more about this field and also try to get some pretty impressive stuff also.

I am completely starting from scratch on this, so my first port of call is to trawl through this part of the forum for more information on what I am looking for to help me with the build and also to spend time trawling through the tinterweb for more ideas.

I have no electronical experience other than rewiring a plug and making basic circuits in school (many moons ago now) but I am hoping to do this all completely myself by learning some new skills to go along with it.

My budget is very small so am going to be sourcing bits and pieces bit by bit, I know full well that this will take me a good while to eventually put together but I'm looking at this as a continuous project that I am hoping to build and improve upon long after it is (hopefully) up and running, collecting data etc.

My first order of business (apart from putting together a list of parts needed) is to begin clearing the space I will hopefully use in the side garden, this will be a mammoth task in itself as I am in Manchester and the weather doesn't tend to allow for many days use of an electric strimmer (and the nettles in that part of the garden look very angry to me).