Newbie here, first partially cloudy night observing the moon, but...

Hi guys, total newbie here. I received my telescope last Wednesday for my birthday but have been unable to use it due to cloud cover. I had to collimate it as the secondary was all over the place and I got a collimating cap today so have sorted that (i think it looks right anyway). 

Surprised myself when I looked out the window before to see partially blue skies and the moon in the distance, so of course off to the telescope I ran. Found the moon with the 20mm, it focused OK enough, although I feel like there was a slight blur to the edges, is this normal? Maybe my collimation is off?

Also, please forgive my idiocy here, I am sure its the most basic of questions. But why when I put the 10mm lens in did the image reverse itself?

I have just received a couple of books I ordered, so I hope to not keep asking such stupid questions.

Many thanks for any help I get.

p.s does anyone use olympus EM10 MkII and know which T ring I need?

The normal view through a newtonian telescope is up and down and left and right reversed. The normal view through a refractor, a maksutov-cassegrain or a schmidt-cassegrain is up and down correct but left and right reversed.

Astronomers are very concerned about maintaining light (many targets are rather faint !) and therefore resisted putting additional lenses / prisms into telescopes to give an image like we see with our eyes.

4 minutes ago, John said:

The normal view through a newtonian telescope is up and down and left and right reversed. The normal view through a refractor, a maksutov-cassegrain or a schmidt-cassegrain is up and down correct but left and right reversed.

Astronomers are very concerned about maintaining light (many targets are rather faint !) and therefore resisted putting additional lenses / prisms into telesopes to give an image like we see with our eyes.