Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_lunar_landings.thumb.jpg.b50378d0845690d8a03305a49923eb40.jpg

Sign in to follow this  
sunka

WO 71mm Star f/4.9 fringing?

Hi,

I am new to refractors and have a problem with my WO 71mm Star f/4.9. If bright star is in FOV I get this horrible halos/fringing. Isn't that supposed to happen only in doublets? uncalibrated example of problem is in attachment, left star is the worst  (taken with Sony A7r, 120s exposures)

Thanks!

image.jpeg

Edited by sunka

Hi,

I think there have been a few of these scopes had to be returned for re-aligning, think there has been a slight issue with them, did you buy from FLO, if so drop them an email and they will probably explain more.

sorry, but hope that helps a bit

Bill

Edited by RuralBill

Sorry just noticed you are not in the UK, so not sure on who to contact, but maybe FLO will still shed some light on the issue

Bill

Yes Sorry, that scope has a serious problem which you are not going to be able to resolve yourself. You need to return it for repair/replacement.

ChrisH

9 minutes ago, RuralBill said:

Hi,

I think there have been a few of these scopes had to be returned for re-aligning, think there has been a slight issue with them, did you buy from FLO, if so drop them an email and they will probably explain more.

sorry, but hope that helps a bit

Bill

Sorry did not mean to post this again, just edited spelling mistakes.... :)

Edited by RuralBill

7 minutes ago, ChrisLX200 said:

Yes Sorry, that scope has a serious problem which you are not going to be able to resolve yourself. You need to return it for repair/replacement.

ChrisH

Is that why they have discontinued them ?.

Bill

20 minutes ago, RuralBill said: