Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Lagoon + Trifid Nebula 3rd July 2016 First DSO image

MY Yau

Hi,

This is my first attempt. First cloudless night after scope purchase 7 weeks ago began with trying to get PHD2 to work and alignment. My problem at my house is limited view and in light polluted city and no sight of Polaris as I am near the equator. So I level the mount, roughly point the tripod North and adjust the latitude with leveler app on my iPhone. PHD2 stars are overexposing so I use 0.5s exposure (only to be pointed out later that I can adjust the gain.) Frustration at getting the DEC to level but getting it quite close in the end. In the end FB forum users kind enough to flood me with tips. Went ahead to test guiding with 30" exposure of the DSLR. Unable to expose longer as the trial Backyard Nikon expired while waiting the clouds to clear. Lolz. Manage to get roundish stars so I am stoked. Looked up Stellarium and point it to Lagoon + Trifid Nebula. Fire a test shot. It's on the edge of the frame, so I adjust the framing. Start guiding and snapped up roughly 1 hour of 30" subs. Took some darks and bias at the end of the run. Didn't take any flats as I was not prepared to do anything more than just trying to setup the guide scope. DSS the subs and curves adjustment in PS and final crop with adjustments on LightRoom.

Second image is what I taken 3 years ago with DSLR + 300mm lens with no tracking mount. Stacked 400+ of 1.3s exposures. The bug has bitten me then and now I can start imaging with a tracking mount. There's still a lot more to learn but one step at a time.

Thanks to the users here for tips and comments on the gear selection when I was deciding on what to buy.

Gear as follow:

Skywatcher 80ED + 0.85x Flattener/Reducer

Nikon D750 

William Optics 50mm/200mm fl Guidescope + ASI290MC

Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro

IDAS LPS-D1

Please give me tips and guidance. Thanks.

Autosave.jpg

1149433_10151846366122022_2061964537_o.jpg

loc.jpg