Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

help with Settings for Canon 1200D

romx

I need some help, recently got a Canon 1200D and got some shots of the moon not great quality but also not the best conditions to take them so I thought everything was fine, today finally Jupiter and Mars decided to come out and play for 20 - 30 mins, like an excited school child I quickly got my scope and camera and went out to try get some images only to find no matter what settings i used when i used the camera i saw nothing but black in the LCD and in the viewfinder. does anybody have any suggestions of the settings I need for the 1200D to be able to see/image stars and planets with the 1200D, I tried with no barlow and a 2x cheapo that came with my scope and neither showed anything whatsoever I am assuming it is to do with iso but I am a complete newbie when it comes to DSLR cameras so any and all help greatly appreciated thanks in advance everyone

I'd guess your problem is probably difficulty in focusing, but have you got your finder aligned with the main scope?

Practice getting focus during the day on a distant object, and leave the focuser locked off so that you can just insert your camera when you come to image.

Then maybe practice on the moon.

My scope has a similar focal length, and the DSLR rear screen is just about good enough to see a star in LiveView mode - set ISO high,

The star may well appear initially as a faint white doughnut when not quite in focus .

You really need to see the LiveView output on a PC screen to get best focus.

So if you have focus right you should be able to see Mars and Jupiter on the rear screen - the viewfinder is too small and dim to be of any use I'm afraid.

Turn down ISO when you're happy and ready to image.

Adding a Barlow will make the Jupiter and Mars images larger in LiveView, but focus will be different - again try during the day and somehow note the two setting positions of the focuser.

Good luck

Michael