Narrowband

Celestron 130SLT eyepiece help

Hello! I'm a beginner space enthusiast and my first telescope purchase was the Celestron NexStar 130 SLT. Included, came a 20mm lens and a 25mm lens. The telescope is amazing, however, I only seem to be able to view the moon with any kind of clarity. Seeing as I am a beginner, I may just be making an amateur mistake. I am willing to purchase more eye pieces and plan to already, and I did read a lot of the stickied post and from what I can tell I should be able to at least view mars with my current lenses. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

- Chris  

Have a look at the Astronomy Tools website - http://astronomy.tools/calculators/field_of_view/   

I quickly entered your scope and a 20mm eyepiece in visual mode.  Is this what you see?  Magnification is Focal Length of scope divided by focal length of eyepiece.  So I think your magnification is only in the mid-30s.  Try a shorter f/l eyepiece.  But be aware that your scope will have a magnification 'limit' at which the view will turn decidedly mushy.  Have a play on the site with different combinations.  

c130.jpg 

You are not making any mistakes but seeing what you should be seeing. You should read this to temper your expectations 

The honest trust it the moon will always give you lots of detail as it is relevantly close 0.25 million miles) when compared to the solar system planets (mars roughly 250 million miles and jupiter 350 to 600 million miles) and deep space objects which are not measured in miles as they are so distant. 

You should try viewing Jupiter through your lowest numbered eyepiece, did it not come with a 10mm?  And then through this you should see some cloud banding and maybe the great red spot. However even with the 25mm you should have seen the 4 jovian moons, little specs of light usually lined up either side of it or sometimes all to just one side. Have another go but read the thread I posted, it will be well worth it.