Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Best Binoculars

hi all,    

just signed up to forum and im quite new to binoculars,   i live on the coast and i like to look out to sea from the beach some times see what ships are out there,  also i like looking up to sky for planes and plants etc from my garden,  is there one where you can see the plane numbers or will they go blur,  i have at moment very old pair tasco super zoom 15x-60x27mm when i zoom everything is blur

Garreth

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You could look at a telescope from e.g. Skywatcher. They are general reasonable good quality and should not give blurry images. For daytime viewing I would recommend a refractor or a Maksutov on an AZ mount with a prism that turns everything the correct way up and left right in the right place.

Something like these:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/evostar/skywatcher-evostar-90-az3.html

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/maksutov/skywatcher-skymax-90-ota.html

A decent pair of binoculars should also show a sharp image. But binos show a more table picture if you put them on a mount. 

I think Tasco is a cheap brand and there is a lot better stuff out there.

There are also shorter refractors, but I think they are less suited for zooming in on details, because of their short focal length.

Zoom binoculars are generally very poor. I started out with decent 10x50 binoculars, and later upgraded to 15x70 for astronomy. The 10x50 (and now my newer 1056) are very good all-round performers, and can still be hand-held easily by most people. The 15x70s are rather heavier, even though the cheaper ones like the Celestron Skymaster and the like are only about 1.4 kgs (and really only 15x63 or so).  My far heftier Helios Apollo 15x70 HDs are about a full kg heavier, but I actually find them easier to hold still (and they are FAR better optically).

Much depends on your budget of course, and there are great tips here: