Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

emilyy01

Help! How to view planets with a Celestron Newtonian?

Hi!

I'm a complete beginner to this whole astronomy thing but I've always been interested since primary school. So I bought a second-hand Celestron Firstscope 114 Short 4.5" Newtonian Equatorial Telescope. I understand that this is only a cheaper telescope but I just wanted something to get me started. I followed the instruction manual and did everything as it said. I aligned the finderscope up during the day and could see fine through the telescope. I took it outside last night to view the planets that are visible at the moment, used the finderscope to locate a planet, looked through the eyepiece and I could see lots of light. So I assumed that I was indeed pointing at a planet. However, I could also see what I believe is the secondary mirror holder or spider. So that completely blocked my view. I tried focusing it, trying different eyepieces with and without the 2x Barlow but still I could see the holder/spider. I followed the guide in the manual about collimation and I believe the collimation is correct. What I don't understand is how I could see fine during the day but not at night.

So what is the problem? Is there something that needs adjusting?

Please be aware that I am a complete beginner so astronomy is currently a completely different language to me!

Thanks if anyone can help!

In my scope if I can see the mirror my focus if off.  All of my eyepieces will come to focus when fully seated.  it wouldn't amaze me if some combination someday needed tightened when they were high.

What all eyepieces do you have?  I am sure someone on here will know which are the factory provided ones.