Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Birthday soon, what would you ask for??

Peco4321

It's my birthday in 2 weeks. I already have politely asked for TLAO, but what else would you ask for. Basically I'm fairly new to this, have a Skywatcher 150p on eq3-2, use my canon 1100d for basic planetary and lunar shots via t ring and adapter. I already have a laser collimator but would like some extra accessories. 

What would you get for a rough spend of £50. 

Perhaps an introductory book on astronomy theory since what we observe can be much more exciting when we know the story behind it?

Or an observng stool? Many like ironing stools for this purpose. You will be very likely to see more when sitting down.

Olly

9 minutes ago, ollypenrice said:

Perhaps an introductory book on astronomy theory since what we observe can be much more exciting when we know the story behind it?

Or an observng stool? Many like ironing stools for this purpose. You will be very likely to see more when sitting down.

Olly

Great suggestions thanks. You're definitely right about the 'wow' factor when you know more about what you're looking at. Also, bad back = need for stool!!  

A few things come to mind:

Ironing stools have a wide range of height adjustment which may make them suitable for observing, but haven't tried one myself.

- Several of the old M42 camera lenses I use for imaging cost me less than £50.

- I enjoyed this book about the Antikythera Mechanism and this one about the early history of solar astronomy.

- Astronomical accessories such a heated scarf. ;)

Hope that's some help, and many happy returns.

Some ideas:

Red light torch and handwarmer https://www.firstlightoptics.com/red-light-astronomy-torches/celestron-firecel-red.html

Binoculars http://www.strathspey.co.uk/shop/10x50.html

An extra eyepiece