Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Telescope help & New to the Forum

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time post to this site, just found you guys last night. I am from the Jersey Shore so there is always a medium level of light - pollution, though I can find some nice dark spots around town.. I am looking at purchasing my first telescope. I have been on some adventures with my friend and his  2" reflector, but I want to get my own now.

My main objective is DSO such as: Andromeda, Sombrero Galaxy, Nebulae  and the like. Also would like to see details of the planets, but this is not as much a requirement as the viewing of DSO.

So I understand a large aperture reflector with fast f / ratio is best for DSO, but I have heard of great results with a Refractor. What specs would qualify a Refractor for being good with DSO? Are Reflectors the usual tool for DSO? I think I understand for DSO I would require a large aperture and a large aperture Reflector would do me more harm than good in NJ with the light pollution.

What would be a good scope for me? I am looking the $500 range for OTA or with stand, not including additonal eyepieces or collimator (if I purchase a Reflector).

So far I have my eyes on the Celestron Omni XLT 150 Reflector, but I wanted to get some opinions from some more experienced stargazers.

I have also found https://www.telescopes.com/collections/telescopes/products/meade-lx70-r8-8-inch-reflector-ota

Thanks!!!        P.S. If you are going to recommend a different scope, please explain the benefits of the scope over the Omni XLT 150.

Hi and welcome to SGL :smile:

You have clearly done your research and I think you are going along the right lines for what you want to see.