SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What Eyepieces

Hello All,

Its been a while since Ive been on here but Im still observing :)

So I have an astromaster 70az refractor with a focal length on 900mm. I do plan on upgrading to a skywatcher 150pl in the near future. 

My main love is for the planets and Im dont want to be wasting money on ep's for the scope I have now if they wont be any good for the future. 

I have been using the standard 20mm and 10mm successfully, last night I had the cigar galaxy and the spiral near to it, m57 was good and clearly showing structure, bands and moons on jupiter, the disk of mars and the rings around saturn. 

I want to get an eyepiece that will be good for planets and show more detail (such as the grs or the casini division) and another for dso's as im struggling with a few, Id also really like to resolve the double double but I can only get it down once even with the 10mm(90x)

I was thinking of a 6mm and 32mm plossl as Im thinking they would compliment what I have now?

What do you guys think?

Forgot to add will the 32mm help with viewing dso's or just increase the field of view and not increase the light hitting my eye? 

Ive got no clue how to work out the exit pupil diameter 

This is the link for Televue's eyepiece calculator that may be helpful.  It does include exit puple calculator

http://www.televue.com/engine/TV3b_page.asp?id=212&plain=TRUE

My preference is for eyepieces that have a wilder field of view and i prefer the Ethos with the  100 degree fov.

this is Televue's advice page that may be of help.

My recommendation is to buy the best eyepieces you can afford.  If cared for the will last a lifetime.

Consider a Televue 5mm Nagler type 6 as a starting point  

9 minutes ago, Kbooky said:

This is the link for Televue's eyepiece calculator that may be helpful.  It does include exit puple calculator

http://www.televue.com/engine/TV3b_page.asp?id=212&plain=TRUE