Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

stargazine_ep28_banner.thumb.jpg.b94278254f44dd38f3f7ee896fe45525.jpg

AlentejoSkies

A night with the planets

What a great night that was.

Out with my 6 inch f/8 dob watching the planets, first time for a while that I'm on my own so I get out the special reserve kit. Most of the time I'm showing others the sky and there I soon found that people see more with the most basic equipment. But today I can use the binoviewers, push the magnification a bit and take the time to watch, not just to look.

Jupiter to start. Everything working okay, tube is cool. Seeing is really good ! 6mm SLV showing its worth for the first time. I have a lot of experience in optics but very little in astronomy, so each observing session is a revelation and coming together of theory and practice. When I got this eyepiece last year I just couldn't handle it, thought is was a poor match for the OTA, but now I love it. Learned so much over the last months, just basic stuff like tube-nudging technique, careful focusing, relaxing the eyes...

So now it's time. It's after midnight and I want to see Mars. And there is detail tonight!! Not a lot, but there is a grey bit, and there white!! That counts as detail.