Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Please help. Celestron NPF 60 travel scope - blurry image

Hey guys I'm new to telescopes and well I have tried reading up on possible fixes, nothing works. 

First day I used it I was able to get a clear image on the lowest power inserting a 20mm eye piece and it would focus. 

Attempted my first night to look at Mars. Well it was a big blur and nothing worked. 

Next day I was attempting to look at a mountain and no matter what I did or try it remained blurry. Focus dial is free moving but the image stay as a massive blur. With no eyepiece it's still all a blur. If I look through it backwards there is a clear image however looking from the eyepiece it remains blurry. 

Im not sure what to do now. Any ideas?

2 hours ago, Thatheff said:

Hey guys I'm new to telescopes and well I have tried reading up on possible fixes, nothing works. 

First day I used it I was able to get a clear image on the lowest power inserting a 20mm eye piece and it would focus. 

Attempted my first night to look at Mars. Well it was a big blur and nothing worked. 

Next day I was attempting to look at a mountain and no matter what I did or try it remained blurry. Focus dial is free moving but the image stay as a massive blur. With no eyepiece it's still all a blur. If I look through it backwards there is a clear image however looking from the eyepiece it remains blurry. 

Im not sure what to do now. Any ideas?

What kind of telescope are you using? Some scopes are more sensitive to internal heat than others, so that may be playing a part. Also, Mars can be a really awkward customer. It's a tiny world with a brilliant disk, so to dull the image, especially in a large aperture scope, its best to use a reasonably high magnification. However, increasing the magnification also increases the visible effects of atmospheric turbulence, which will wash out any detail.