SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Histogram alignment

HI, when aligning the RGB channels in either DSS or PS, where on the line do you line them up? I don't mean putting the 3 together, I mean in DSS what point on the curve or in PS where in relation to the left or right of the line?  Thanks guys,

Steve

Hi Steve. I'm not an expert, but I have a very basic DSS tutorial on my blog page at the link in my signature that might help. I would link to it, but I'm using my phone and a bit limited! 

Mark

As a rule of thumb I'd say the top left of the histo peaks should be aligned.

levels%20aligning-M.jpg

Personally I wouldn't do it in DSS but in Photoshop or a an equivalent programme because, at each stretching iteration, you'll probably have to realign them anyway.

Olly

Thanks guys but it's not really what I mean. In DSS,  you can move any of the R,G or B channels anywhere along the curve. Similarly in PS by adjusting the black point marker in levels you move the corresponding channel to the left or right. I can move all 3 independently so is there a spot where they should be moved to e.g to the extreme left or in the middle? Looking at Olly's screen grabs the peaks all begin right at the left side so is that where I should be aiming to move my channels to?

As Olly says, DSS isn't the best for this, but in my tutorial the aligned channels can be locked and moved together so that the bottom curve of the S-Curve pases through as much of the combined channels as possible. It's not perfect but will help you see what might be in your stack....for me this is usually 1/3 to 1\2 of the way from the left.

We may be talking about two different things. In terms of colour balance I think that a good starting point is to have the top left of each histo peak aligned. I would check this between each iteration of the stretch, whether in Curves or in Levels. (You can stretch in either. Levels is easier, Curves allows you to be more sophisticated.)