SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

how i look galaxy's through skywatcher 150/750 newt.

hello, for you all. i am new in stargazing. i have skywatcher 150/750 newtonien with eq mount. my problem that, i don't spot galaxy's.  i seen M13 , M3 , M42 nicely. but , when I pinpoint  M81 , I SEEN NOTHING. please suggest me .Capture.PNG

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The most likely reasons are:

1. Sky too bright.

2. Looking in the wrong place.

3. Not noticing that they're there.

Solutions:

1. Take your scope to the darkest place you can. For M81/82 it'll be enough if you can see all the main stars of Ursa Minor with the naked eye. For most galaxies you need to be able to see the Milky Way naked eye for the sky to be dark enough to give a good telescopic view.

2. Get a star atlas (or app) with stars faint enough that you can get to the exact place in the sky where your target lies. Don't rely on sweeping around the general area - that only works for bright targets, not faint galaxies. Try S&T Pocket Atlas.

3. Once you know you're looking at the right place, look there for a sufficiently long time, so your eye can adapt. If you're bothered by stray lights you could try putting a hood over your head. Very faint targets can take a long time to become visible.

M81/82 should be visible with binoculars from a suburban location, so my guess is that either your sky is very bright or you've been looking in the wrong place.

Also, what focul length eyepiece (EP) are you using to try to view M81 or any other Galaxy. If you are using too much magnification on the galaxy this will automatically dim the appearance of it considerably if your skies or seeing is not very good. You should get a decent view with a good 20mm or so EP, so use the EP that gives you the widest field of view when trying to tease out galaxies, although you don't want to go any wider than a 32mm EP really.