SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

SkyProdigy 90 or Nexstar 4SE or 6SE

Hi Im new to all this and need some advice from people who know what they're talking about. My boyfriend and I have recently developed a love for space and have spent a lot of time with friends scopes. I want to buy him one for his birthday ad there is so many options I want to make the right decision. 

Im looking at the celestron 4se or the 6se and then considering the Skyprodigy 90. Basically I want to be able to see as much as possible. Obviously planets as clearly as can be and really interested in exploring other galaxies. Being able to take photos would be pretty essential too.

Price range I was initially wanting to spend $1,000 aus but these telescopes just look incredible and if worth it with the price comparisions am willing to spend more if its really worth it. Any help would be appreciated. Im in melbourne australia so if anyone can help me in the best place to buy one would be great too.

Thanks in advance :)

the bigger the aperture, the more you will be able to see, so if your budget allows and you are willing to commit, then I would recommend the 6se out of the three you have shortlisted.

I know someone has one of these, and he's very happy with it.

a quick internet search came up with Saxon Binoculars & Telescopes in Melbourne, may be worth paying them visit.

it may also be worth getting him involved in the decision, I know surprises are great, but ultimately he needs to be happy with such investments :)

Welcome

Out of the 3 you list it would be the 6SE. It has the biggest apperature gathering the most light so has the potential to see the most.

It is great that you have been and spent time with friends telescopes as this have you an idea on different designs and size that telescopes can be (hopefully).