SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

beginner question about observing Jupiter

Hello!

I am a beginner astronomer and just purchased my first telescope: Celestron Astromaster EQ130. I decided to start "small" with an entry level scope and learn the trade as I progress. I could easily afford one of the more advance computerised scope but I want to learn the basics firsts... also the night sky isn't going anywhere so I guess I have time.

I am currently located at latitude 33 degrees approx.

The first thing I decided to observe was Jupiter being an easy target well lit... so I aligned my scope and balance it and then point it towards Jupiter. It took me a good 20 minutes to be able to zero it on my 20mm eyepieces and thanks to proper setup I was able to follow it through the RA knob only.

now what I saw was a shiny yellow dot with 3/4 moons next to it. I increased the magnification with a Barlow x2 and switched to a 10mm eyepiece. Honestly I though I would see it much bigger but it was still a slightly bigger dot with the moons. I couldn't make the bands appear. Thing is that I presume it is due to the strong flashing luminosity glaring at my eye that make it impossible for me to see the details on the planet. Is my understanding correct? Do I need to apply some sort of filter in order to discern the bands? Or is my magnification simply not enough? What are some tips to get a better more detailed view of the planet?

please note that Saturn appears like a small yellowing bulb with its rings clearly visible and Mars is just a small red dot with no discernable features.

Thank you!