Scope: Celestron 130 SLT
CCD: Imaging Source DFK21AU04
DSLR: Canon 600D
Filter: Baader 5"x5" ND5 Solar Film
Barlows: 2x, Televue Powermate 5x

Should I use DSLR or CCD mentioned above, what should be the
format/settings to image on both setup? Should I use barlow/powermate to
get Mercury's significant size shadow on Sun? My scope has 2" hole on cap
for this filter, will this be enough get lights to image? 

This is my first attempt to image sun so not much idea about this. As per
my location I would have max 45 minutes window to image. 
Any help will be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks,

I am not an imager but would suggest that you spend the next week trying the various options that you have to find out what suits your set-up best. There are lots of little sun spots on the disk at the moment that you can use to test your equipment and ability to achieve sharp focus.

...and Mercury will not cast a shadow on the Sun :wink:

13 minutes ago, DRT said:

I am not an imager but would suggest that you spend the next week trying the various options that you have to find out what suits your set-up best. There are lots of little sun spots on the disk at the moment that you can use to test your equipment and ability to achieve sharp focus.

...and Mercury will not cast a shadow on the Sun :wink:

Hey, Thanks for Reply,

I will get my Sun filter in two days and then I will try to check its capability meanwhile I am trying to get more and more information on this.

And yes, I know mercury will not cast a shadow on Sun but it will look as a shadow dot on Sun disk and obviously no details with transit path only :) 

Thanks,

Mercury looks like a small black hole cut into the sun.  Venus by comparison looked rather large and had a fuzzy edge due to its significant atmosphere.

I've only used an ancient Olympus C-4000 afocally coupled to an eyepiece to take solar images.  It worked pretty well.  I might try direct imaging using a barlow or coma corrector Monday with one of my DSLRs.