Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Paramount MX+ vs 10Micron

Petergoodhew

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Just now, Petergoodhew said:

Dave, what was the software benefit with the 10Micron?

Per Frejvall, a member here has written his own software for the 10 Micron and is very active in supporting it.

Paramount use their own Software Bisque and I read some reports of problems, but lot's of imagers use it including Nick Symanek.

A nice choice to have but not an easy one :)

Dave

I have an old Paramount ME and use the Sky X for local remote observing ( I open and shut the run off roof by hand). The software is excellent and I have had no issues with it. It is fully supported and if and when any issues have come up they have been quickly dealt with. 

I would recommend their mounts and software to any one considering robotic use. I have no experience of the 10Micron mount.

Regards Andrew

I have the Software Bisque SkyX program and it runs fine. I have used it to control my 10 Micron GM1000HPS and before that my NEQ6, without any problems so far. (Still early days for the 10 Micron). As Dave said Per is active in supporting his software. The Model Maker is really easy to use and is mesmerising when going about its business. Anything that makes life simpler the better. His Stick Station works with the 10 Micron without any problems in the background. The 10 Micron is so accurate I cannot complain about any aspect at all.  The 10 Micron handles a bit more load than the Paramount MyT, which was partially my reason for buying it.

If you are needing legs rather than a pier, the MyT legs are very expensive for what they are.

One point I so far have not found a satisfactory answer to is making the SkyX initiate a meridian flip. I have found no method of forcing one so far. You have to wait for the software to do so and that is not so good if you are near the meridian  and it  does so in the middle the next sub.