Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Bridging the Gap

Hi folks,

Not sure if this is in the right place, so apologies if it's not.

I recently bought The Quantum Universe by Brian Cox and Jeff Forshaw and, despite reviews stating that it was the best introduction to quantum mechanics going, I got stuck almost immediately owing to the high maths content. I'd really like to teach myself the necessary mathematical subjects related to QM, but have no idea where to start. The last time I studied maths was at GCSE level nearly fifteen years ago. Can anyone suggest/recommend any good books to 1) help me brush up on GCSE maths which, I'll be honest, is probably worse than rusty, and 2) give me an introduction to the more advanced subjects needed for astrophysics and quantum mechanics?

15 hours ago, employee2-4601 said:

I recently bought The Quantum Universe by Brian Cox and Jeff Forshaw and, despite reviews stating that it was the best introduction to quantum mechanics going, I got stuck almost immediately owing to the high maths content...

There are sufficient numbers of (erudite) sceptics re. unconventional of "clocks" in this work? :p

I remember (along with a few others) being sufficiently perturbed by his new ideas re. the Pauli
Exclusion principle. Back then, I was on TWITTER and queried this: "Buy my Book", he said! :D

I am unconvinced that trying out "revolutionary" ideas in beginner (non-expert) texts work? :)
(Though, like many satisfied customers, I might make an exception with Richard Feynman...)

15 hours ago, employee2-4601 said:

Hi folks,

Not sure if this is in the right place, so apologies if it's not.