Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Anyone used ST80 for imaging?

yelsac

I know this little beauty is great as a guidescope but has anyone used it for imaging with a DSLR?

Just wondered if it would be any good for widefield stuff or even on the sun with the right filters

There have been posts on here. In broadband the blue halo problem is very severe, about as bad as it gets. Used in narrowband we've seen pretty good results. If you have one I'd give it a go but there are better choices if starting from scratch. It's cheap, though.

Olly

I am currently using my ST80 for imaging. However, you'll never see me publish any of my efforts. Essentially, I am totally new to astro-imaging and after "reading before buying" have made my first big expenditure on the mount (I got an AZ EQ6-GT). The ST80 is meant to be my future guide scope. However, I have a big learning curve with the kit I have so before I expect to make any reasonable imaging I need to learn how to use what I have so far. To this end I picked up a cheap ST80 as the future guide scope and simply use it for imaging now (resulting images are really poor but that's not what I am looking to achieve right now).

For actually guiding I have a standard 75mm C mount lens on a ToupTek AstroCam (again fairly cheap) but works. The combo of this plus ST80 and DSLR allow me to practice observing sessions. Whilst I learn the ropes I am saving for a decent APO. But living in Scotland and Summer approaching (the sky doesn't really go dark at night during Summer months up here) I won't need that for many months which is my time to learn as much as I can about what I have already got (and about processing).

About the later (learning about post processing) it would be useful if a few of the seasoned experts published a few of their subs etc for us to practice on, because, obviously I'm not going to get any decent subs anytime soon :)

2 hours ago, ollypenrice said: