Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

new member any advice welcomed

bbb69

Hi All. I'm new to all this, recently purchased a Celestron 114 on an EQ mount with a view to getting some Moon pictures. Ive had my canon 1100d for a few years now and mainly use it for wildlife and outdoors pictures. Love my photography and still get a buzz when I get good shots (not many to be fair) I know I will take a while to get a good moon snap so any advice welcome. I also have a canon powershot 610 which I intend to use for digiscoping and maybe even mount use this for the moon pics I want. Anyway I have also purchased some additional celestron lenses but not yet pointed the scope to the sky mainly due to the amount of cloud cover here lately. I hope to get set up and just have a look around before I attempt getting pictures. Does any one have any experience or advice about the equipment or any pics to show me using the set ups to see what I can expect from what I have. Thanks in advance for any advice and Thanks already for the advice I have from reading other threads on here.

I'm visual only, too, I'm afraid - but, welcome.

Root through the various sections of this wonderful repository of knowledge and experience and the answer will be there.

Or, if necessary, it will be tracked down.

Have fun.

Hi welcome to SGL from Pete in Bedfordshire :icon_biggrin: It is not going to be easy imaging with your set up, mostly because of the lack of a motor on mount.

I would think you might be able to get some decent single exposure shots of the moon maybe with your DSLR, but i think you could certainly do some Lunar imaging with a webcam type camera, as long as you are happy to track manually via the slow motion knobs.

Ask the question in the imaging section and you will get a more comprehensive answer.