SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Eyepiece advice and thoughts needed

Hi guys,

I started out with a 130m with the stock eyepieces, however (much to my wife's exasperation) I just bought a second hand 200p from ebay. The new scope came very very cheap, but without eyepieces. While I can use the stock skywatcher ones from the 130m for the moment my (wife's) plan is that the 130 will go in the near future, leaving me with a need for some new glassware :) After looking round various discussions I have a short list I'd like opinions and advice on please. If you have alternatives please give them. So, I have a limited budget (approx £150 ish) and (as a total newbie) I don't really know what I want to focus on, so hoping to get ones that can be used for a bit of planet watching and some DSO's. 

8mm: BST Explorer
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-25-8mm-BST-Explorer-Dual-ED-eyepiece-Branded-Starguider-/161594578166

18mm: either Baader Classic Ortho & Plossl or BST Explorer
http://www.firstlightoptics.com/all-eyepieces-barlows/baader-classic-ortho-bco-eyepiece.html

http://www.365astronomy.com/18mm-BST-Explorer-ED-Eyepiece.html

25mm: either Celestron X-Cel LX or BST Explorer
http://www.firstlightoptics.com/all-eyepieces-barlows/celestron-x-cel-lx-eyepiece.html

http://www.365astronomy.com/25mm-BST-Explorer-ED-Eyepiece.html

Thanks

Gary

A couple of points before, hopefully, people with more experience weigh in:

What's the focal length of your scope? I'm guessing about 1000mm.

All the EPs you mention are highly considered. There may be an advantage however with sticking to one line if they are parfocal. This implies that you don't have to refocus (much) when you change EPs.

If you think you may want to observe DSOs, you might also consider a wide-view EP in the 28 - 32mm range?

by "200p" do you mean this?