Narrowband

Help with powering an imaging set up

Hi,

I'm new to Astrophotography and I'm just getting all my equipment together.

I will shortly have the following equipment :-

HEQ5 Pro Mount

SW ED 80 DSPro (imaging Scope) with reducer

SW ST80  (guide Scope)

Canon 450D Modded

Computer

and I will be getting a guide camera, something like the ToupTek or similar.

I am thinking of setting everything up with an old computer (19V) with Win8 on, I have already got Stellerium, PHD, EQMod, sharpcap, etc on this computer.  I'm thinking of leaving the old computer running in a box or similar near to the scope then using Team viewer to run everything from my house.

The problem I am having is with the power source to run all the equipment.

I am thinking of getting a regulated power supply and RCD from maplins or similar place to run my equipment when at home but was wondering the best way to set it up.  Would I be best trying to build a power hub (not very good at electrics) and then I can supply the power to the hub then run all my equipment off it, if building a power hub how can I run the computer, will I need some sort of step-up equipment to take the 12v to 19v and likewise for the camera which I think runs at 8v.  If I build a power hub then I think I will be able to get a deep cycle battery to run everything from when out at dark sights.

I have seen the SW powertanks but not sure if these will run the astro imaging equipment long enough, or have enough capacity to attach all the necessary equipment.

I already have a 17ah LifePo4 battery available and can buy one of these from FLO http://www.firstlightoptics.com/batteries-powerpacks/tracer-t-bar-std-to-12v-cigar-socket-025m.html to attach to it and then I will have additional power.

Can anyone offer any advice on how best to set up the power source for the imaging equipment

Thanks

Doug

Why not use mains and a (or more) converter? As long as you are close to your house, that is the best option.