Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Do I have realistic expectations

Hello, I have been lurking about for a week or so and must say this is a very informative forum.

I am a newb.  My level of experience pretty low.  I can find Jupiter and Betelgeuse like objects quickly and sometimes others using Google Sky and some self awareness.  My primary viewing location is suburban St Louis but we are on large (cheap) lots up hill from the river so my sky does not have the orange city glow many of my friends have. 

For equipment I have a set of  Gemini 435 7 x 35 Binoculars and an ancient toy store telescope which at least does see the moon pretty well.

What I would like to see is some planetary detail like the great red spot, perhaps a ring division on Saturn and a bit of detail in nebula and galaxies.

Here is where I might need corrected.  For this I believe I will need a 6" to 8" scope, some patience and the clear dry skies we have in winter.  Hopefully my skies are dark enough I won't have to make too many trips to the country.

Can I do slightly better than this with a 6" or 8" scope?

post-21324-0-81618100-1380766683.jpg

Is it possible for me to get any more detail of deep space objects than this with that type of equipment?

post-21324-0-33312700-1380858125.png

Thanks for your patience, I am sure I will have plenty of questions in the future as well.

To make any meaningful observations of the Great Red Spot you'll need at least an 8" scope I would say, and if there are any hints of light pollution you'll struggle to see anything in the DSO category other than maybe a hint of M42 or M31. The drawings you see of DSOs are representative of the smudges you are likely to see through your telescope; the images in books and in the astrophotography fora spoil us really.

James