Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie advice on scope

Hi,

I'm fairly new to astronomy and would like to concentrate on astrophotography with some visual.

I've bought and read every photon counts a number of times along with other books and have learnt that the main thing is the mount.  I am getting a NEQ6.

I was initially going to get the SW80ED or similar but then I read the wonderful thread about the SW 130PDS and noted that people also use the SW 150PDS and SW200PDS.  Now I'm not sure what to buy and would like some advice. 

I intend purchasing another scope to use for visual work and have already purchased a SW ST80 to use as a guide scope.

Thanks

Doug

Hi Doug, I'm really new to this astronomy lark myself but decided to get a 130pds with a heq5 mount as I wanted to get in the imaging side of things. Saying that, it's taken me months of reading the Every photon counts book and the wonderful advice on this site to eventually get my 1st image to post tonight. 

I thought about a bigger scope but decided on the 130 as I felt that the heq5 mount would cope with the weight and the added fact that I have several dark sites around me so transporting the gear was also a consideration. 

Just my opinion Doug but I'm sure others far better to advise will add their views. Whatever setup you decide to go with, I'm sure you'll find it every bit as enjoyable as I do. Just wish the clouds would do one!:happy7:

Dan