Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_dslr_mirrorlesss_winners.thumb.jpg.9deb4a8db27e7485a7bb99d98667c94e.jpg

brsseb

How to photograph what I actually see through the various eye pieces

Im just getting started with astronomy. Been doing some simple observations of the moon and Jupiter with my Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ with various oculars. Ive also got a Barlow and a T-ring, and have attached my DSLR (Nikon D5300 DX) to it and taken som simple shots. My (silly) question is: how can I take photographs using the same maginfication levels that I am seeing through the various eye pieces? I got a 2x Barlow, which only allows me to take shots in either 2x magnification, or 1x (when I screw the end bit off the Barlow). But how can I take photos of what I am seeing when I use the various eye pieces that I got , like my 16mm, (which allows for way more detailed closeups of, say the craters on the moon, than my 2x Barlow does). 

Ive attached two photos taken with my Barlow, one with the 2x magnification and one without it.  

DSC_0165-800.jpg

DSC_0122_800.jpg

Simplest and cheapest way (free) is to get your camera phone out. If you have a half decent camera on your phone simply position the lens of that over your eyepiece (it can take a bit of playing to get right, especially in the dark). I have taken some really good pictures using my smartphone.

This pic was taken with my smartphone through the eyepiece. its nothing special but gives you an idea of what you can expect:

WP_20150730_003.jpg

Edited by Colsey
add picture

On ‎16‎/‎03‎/‎2016 at 22:11, brsseb said:

how can I take photographs using the same maginfication levels that I am seeing through the various eye pieces?