Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello From Nova Scotia Canada :)

NSastronomer

Hello all,

I'm new to astronomy, and this is my  1st post here.

I'm in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia Canada, and just purchased my 1st telescope, a Celestron NexStar 127SLT MAK Telescope.

I hope to learn alot about astronomy, both for myself, and my 5 year old daughter, and to hopefully get into astrophotography, starting with the moon and planets for now, and then with a different scope, DSO's one day.

Take care all and God bless!

Chris :)

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks for your warm welcome everyone, I really appreciate that!

I've been reading alot of info here on this forum, but I'm sure I'll be asking lots of questions. I've actually subscribed to one other astronomy forum so far, but many times when asking questions, I'm referred here to threads on this forum, so why not sign up here, lol.

127SLT-16march2016.jpg

Greetings, Chris, and welcome to SGL - it's very nice to have you aboard! Don't sell your 127mm Mak short. They work very well on some DSO's out there! And don't be shy about questions - we love questions and finding their answers in all fields of astronomy.

Clear & dark skies -

Dave

On 3/15/2016 at 02:55, Dave In Vermont said:

Greetings, Chris, and welcome to SGL - it's very nice to have you aboard! Don't sell your 127mm Mak short. They work very well on some DSO's out there! And don't be shy about questions - we love questions and finding their answers in all fields of astronomy.

Clear & dark skies -

Dave

Hi Dave,

I just assumed that there was too much light pollution here where I live to see any DSO's with this telescope.

I tried the "tour" feature of my telescope, and I couldn't see a thing, nothing at all. Just stars. They all seemed to be in the same area of the sky over the city, the telescope always points to the same area when I select any DSO to view. Bummer.