Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My first decent attempt at Jupiter

First night of decent seeing about 3 weeks ago meant I had to have a go with my new ASI120mc I had for Xmas.  I've never tried astro-imaging before this year so am really pleased with the results so far.  These images were taken from my back garden, so I think I could get even better results from a decent dark sky location away from buildings, etc.

Jupiter Sequence.tif

2 hours ago, DevonSkies said:

Nice pictures. I've just ordered one of those cameras myself. What telescope are you using? And what software? Thanks!

I have a Skywatcher 200p on an EQ5 mount.  I've just ordered an NEQ6 mount so I can have a go at some longer exposure deep sky imaging.  I've had the scope for around 5 years, but now finding the imaging quite addictive, so getting outdoors more often.  On the software side I'm using Sharpcap for acquiring the images and Registax for post-processing.

48 minutes ago, Starwiz said:

I have a Skywatcher 200p on an EQ5 mount.  I've just ordered an NEQ6 mount so I can have a go at some longer exposure deep sky imaging.  I've had the scope for around 5 years, but now finding the imaging quite addictive, so getting outdoors more often.  On the software side I'm using Sharpcap for acquiring the images and Registax for post-processing.

Thanks for the info. Good luck with your efforts!

4 hours ago, Astrosurf said:

Try having a go with Autostakkert!2 for post-processing. I find it's better. Then bring the image back into Regsitax for the Wavelets function.

Thanks for the info.  I did have ago with Autostakkert, but the image came out quite noisy, so maybe I'm doing something wrong?