SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Pixinsight

Thinking of purchasing pixinsight in the next couple of months but I have the trial version but struggling with the learning curve and not having being able to take any images because of the weather. 

What are people's thoughts on pixinsight, do you use pixinsight on its own all the time ? 

If anyone would be kind enough to let me borrow some raw image data so I can play with pixinsight before my trial runs out that would be appreciated.

I spent much  time thinking about the software I ought to purchase.  This stuff is so expensive you need to be sure you are getting what you need and what suits you.

I went for PixInsight as my stand alone processing software.  Although I am new to this game and therefore don't know much about advanced processes, I don't think it lacks much - Layering is about the only function it doesn't have that might be useful.  Yes, the learning curve is very steep but I have found it well worth a few weeks messing around with it - in fact, after nearly a year I am still doing that whilst I am working up my modelling abilities with my mount.  (YouTube videos have helped my understanding enormously and PixInsight run special courses - the next is in May in the US)  One of the truly excellent features is the Dynamic Background Extraction tool which makes removal of gradients very quick and easy - either automatically or manually.

Like everything else, I guess, you don't get the full benefit until you have done all the learning.

Gus

Thanks for the reply I think I would like to buy this software in the next couple of months and use it as my primary processing software as it is dedicated to astrophotgraphy which I really like that. I have read on buying the software their is a tax ? Did you get taxed ?