Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Top tips for a new Dob owner?

Some of you may have read about my equatorial mount trials and tribulations, for those that haven't, I have been observing for the past 9-10 months with a 200p f/5 on an EQ5, have taken the plunge and swapped (well half way through swapping) to a 200p f/6 on a dobsonian mount. The forecast looks like there should be some opportunities in the next 2 or 3 days, so I was wondering if anyone had any sage wisdom for a new Dob owner?

Hi Rockystar, i have an xt10i i got fedup with sticky bearings so the first rhing i did was change to a lazy susan bearing, super smooth, never looked back, if you do this mod you need some sort of friction as its so smooth, i put some of those green scrubbing pads for washing dishes, that was three years ago and no problems, if it goes wrong change the pads, enjoy  

chris 

Thanks guys. Had a quick session last night, after the wife went to bed, but I was tired and it all started out in a daze.

Far quicker and much easier to get set up than my EQ, so big plus there (with tiredness and the way the clouds were looking, with my EQ I probably wouldn't have bothered).

The chair I have was just about ok height wise for the altitude of Jupiter, but when I went looking for the Leo triplets, it was a tiny bit low (that adjustable chair looks amazing, but a bit pricey at the moment)

The twisting motion was a bit stiff, so need to sort that out - I'll have a look into that mod  Chris, but is there anything I can do in the mean time? Take it apart and grease it? It looks like a self locking nut, can these be removed and replaced?