SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Just seen Saturn for the first time.. ....just had to tell someone! :)

....wow, so dainty, and took a while to make out the rings (well I could just make out a ring not rings truth be told) Found it better to look quite far away from the eyepiece. Is that normal?

Been up since 5am yesterday, as in Friday, started work at 7am.....can't believe I've been up all night....I think my toes are still there!

woop! :)

Congratulations on your first view of Saturn and her wonderful ring(s)!

You must be tired and closing in on shock - otherwise your enthusiasm would register a higher note in your posting. Do tell what scope you're using and eyepiece?

Get a good sleep - and hope the weather cooperates for a repeat performance.

Clear and stay clear skies,

Dave

Hi Dave.....I did loose a toe which froze and broke off, now on way to hospital ?

Im a newbie but learning fast. Got a SkyWatcher Explorer 130m with EQ2 mount.

Bought a 32mm Celestron Omni Plossl for deep space stuff, which works quite good actually, TeleVue 15mm Plossl for mid range, a SkyWatcher Planetary 6mm for planets (on a recommendation from a shop but have yet to get a nice clean view, so hmm...) and a Celstron X-Cel LX Barlow.

I find the 32mm Celestron with the Barlow work quite well actually.

Also bought a few filters, an Explore Scientific UHC Nebula (which works a treat and can fainted see green with averted vision), and a Baader Neyodimeom, which I haven't used much.

Just waiting for my telescope to de-steam, then I might be able to have that thing called "sleep"

Am so chuffed I saw Saturn though...been waiting for ages for a clear sky and not a school night!

p

Congrats!! Saturn is a jaw dropper indeed - not only first time but every time I see it. One of the most beautiful sights in the night sky.

Wait till you see it high in the sky and crystal clear - I could watch it forever lol. :)

2 hours ago, pblackwell said: