Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

CCD Monochrome imaging in heavy light pollution

Crowmium

Hi all,

As an astrophysics student, my department lets me use one of it's telescopes on the roof of the physics building. The rig itself is a monster; a 10' Meade LX200 SCT with a QSI CCD Monochrome camera + filter wheel for H alpha, R, V (Green), B and Infrared.

The only problem with it is that it's situated right in the middle of the city, so the levels of light pollution are incredibly high. What would be the best way to deal with this in post processing (im using Photoshop CSS), and is there a 'limit' on the maximum exposure I should be taking into account?

Finally, I'm able to take darks by closing the telescope's dome (the rig is all controlled remotely). Since I'm using a monochrome CCD camera, do I need to take darks for each filter and stack them separately, or can I just take darks in one filter band (for example the V band) and just use them for all the colour channels?

Here's what I've gotten for M51 with a single 400s exposure in the R, V and B bands, one without processing (I just aligned the colour channels into an RGB image) and one is with processing. When I get more time on the scope, I'll try to get multiple frames and stack them - will this help any with the light pollution?

I wasn't sure if this question would have been better suited for the processing section of the forum. Apologies if it's in the wrong section.

Cheers,

Crowmium

M51a LIGHT POLLUTION.jpg

M51a.png

Thanks for the reply, how would I go about integrating the h-alpha filter - would it be in post processing? I've heard of people combining it with a colour layer (the red channel I believe) to produce a H-alpha RGB image.

Hi Crowmium,

The images are out of focus. You can see that by the donut shape of the stars. The little hole in the middle is the central obstruction of the SCT