Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice

Hi, I am just starting out with astronomy and was looking for some advice.

I have a Celestron model #31044 Firstscope 114 EQ 4.5" Newtonian Telescope (lived up my loft for years and just brought it back down!!)

I was just looking for some advoce on how good a telescope this is and what i will be able to see through it. Will I be able to see the two ice planets and possibly pluto through this? How likely will I be of seing any nebula?

I have also looked at the celestron eyepiece kit and wondered if this is worthwhile investment? http://www.amazon.co.uk/Celestron-94303-Telescope-Piece-Filter/dp/B00006RH5I/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1456527086&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=celestron+eyepiec+kit

Lastly, would anyone be able to recommend a decent solar filter and is gazing at the sun for sunspots/mercury  wothwhile?

Thanks, Gary

The eye piece kit would not be a worthwhile investment. I am not familiar with your scope, but it should be good enough to get you started. You will be able to see Neptune and Uranus, but they will just be pinpoints of light and star like. You need a much larger telescope to find Pluto. You will be able to spot the brighter nebulae such as the Great Orion Nebula, but if your telescope has not been used for a while you will probably have to collimated it first. As to solar filters, you should look at the Baader filters available from First Light Optics. Whatever you do, do not use a filter which attaches to an eye piece and never look at the Sun without a safe filter in place. Welcome to the forum and never be shy to ask questions.