Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Gravity is Dark matter???????????

Hi all, I am new to all this but have a theory about gravity. 

I dont know if this has been said in the past but I was sat down thinking and I had a thought. Could gravity be dark matter?? I thought maybe space is all dark matter and planets sqeeze into it and rather then gravity pulling us down maybe it is dark matter PUSHING us down??

I don't know any other way to describe but to imagine a rubber band in ur fingers pulled tight and u pull it so its tight. If you push your finger between the to bits it will sqeeze ur finger.

Maybe dark matter is split open and trying to squeeze back hence the round planets .  

Could gravity possibly be pushing rather then pulling???

Thank you for reading this, Steve

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Dark Matter, although of unknown nature, behaves like extra mass in the Universe.  It is detected by such things as anomalous rotation of galactic clusters, and the images of distant galaxies whose light has been deviated in its path.  In fact, most of the mass in the Universe is Dark Matter.  So DM acts - in gravitational terms - like regular matter.  

And just to complicate things, remember that gravity is not actually a force but - according to the General Theory of Relativity - a distortion of spacetime.

Doug.

12 hours ago, skeldon said:

Hi all, I am new to all this but have a theory about gravity. 

I dont know if this has been said in the past but I was sat down thinking and I had a thought. Could gravity be dark matter?? I thought maybe space is all dark matter and planets sqeeze into it and rather then gravity pulling us down maybe it is dark matter PUSHING us down??

I don't know any other way to describe but to imagine a rubber band in ur fingers pulled tight and u pull it so its tight. If you push your finger between the to bits it will sqeeze ur finger.