Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

80mm ED are they the same

Doug64

Hi,

I'm brand new to SGL so Hello.

I am just getting into Astronomy but have been a keen photographer for many years and would like to get into AP.  I have read 'making the photons count' and have decided to initially start off with an 80mm ED.  I am looking to get either a HEQ5 Pro or HEQ 6 Pro to go with the 80mm ED so that I can then add a larger scope as and when I get more experienced.  I will also be using a modded DSLR to start with and will also look to use an autoguide system with PHD or similar program to run it.

I have seen a number of 80mm ED telescopes for sale and was wondering  if they are all the same or is there one that you would recommend.

Skywatcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro OTA

Ascension 80mm EDT APO Triplet

Opticstar ED80S Gold

TS ED 80mm f/7 refractor telescope

Some appear to have ED FPL-51 glass element and others have a mix including FPL -53 glass which I understand from my research is better.

I have also seen this one Altair Lightwave 72/432 ED-R refractor  which appears to get good reviews.

I would appreciate your advice with choosing the correct 80mm ED Telescope.

Thanks

Doug

It sounds like you're off to an educated start. 

The Skywatcher 80ED (with reducer)  is a very popular starting scope so is easy to sell on if you decide to change and for that reason would be my choice from the EDs.

That triplet does look like a lot of scope for the money and "should" offer superior color correction but I know nothing about it, I'm sure someone with first hand experience will be able to give an opinion. 

30 minutes ago, Doug64 said:

Hi,

I'm brand new to SGL so Hello.