SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

The Moon

hi all,

tonight I am going out to a local place that is pitch black as far as light pollution.

some of you may already know that i have a skymax 127 and a Nikon d3300 ( T-ring mount too ) so i am wondering what is the best way for me to image the moon ? should i do loads of photos with short or long exposure and stack them ? should i just do 1 long exposure photo ? or just a quick exposure photo ? 

sorry for sounding like a total novice but i am ha ha thank you again all i have learnt so much from you guys :) 

Just now, hitmanh said:

Any reason not to take good old fashion high res single shots? Should get a good view with that setup and with the brightness and reasonable ISO pretty low noise.

No there is no reason why to be honest the truth of the matter is my zoom is not that great with the camera lens and when i have taken shot via telescope before they were not that detailed. i want to get some good detail if i can 

1 minute ago, stedavey123 said:

No there is no reason why to be honest the truth of the matter is my zoom is not that great with the camera lens and when i have taken shot via telescope before they were not that detailed. i want to get some good detail if i can 

Fair enough, I was just wondering the detail difference between high res single shots versus lower-res but stacked video images.

I would go for single frames - take about 150-200 (not a typo - go for about two hundred!) and stack the best 50 of them.  I think you will be surprised at the result :wink2:.

Try for the best focus that you can (as the Moon is almost full try and focus on the edge that is showing some shadows of craters) and set the exposure so that there are no "pure white" saturated regions.