SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

StarlightLive Multispectral and HDR Captures

Dom543

Crab Nebula M1 in Hubble Palette

Crab.Nebula.M1_2016.2.12_23.33.58_crop.j

This is my first attempt to use the Hubble palette.

2x90sec Sii to red + 3x45sec Oiii to blue + 3x45sec Ha to green channels. All mean stacked together. I left H-alpha to be the last as it often overwhelms the other components. This way I had the option to delete the last frame from the stack had Ha been too strong.

I thank to Martin Meredith for calling my attention to the fact that this nebula has sufficient S-II content to be promising as a tri-component narrowband target.

M1 is a bit too small for the Lodestar on my C-11 SCT. So I cropped the original capture to 70% and then enlarged the result 140% in MS Paint back to the original frame size.  The side effect is some graininess but, I think, it's still better than a tiny object in a big field of black.

Optics used: Celestron 11" SCT with two x0.63 focal reducers spaced about 100mm apart.

Clear Skies!

--Dom

Witch Head Nebula Multispectral

Witch.Head.Nebula.IC2118_2016.2.11_00.03

Despite its monochromatic "blue only" appearance, this capture would not have been possible without the multispectral capability of StarlightLive. It was made of 5x60sec exposures assigned to the blue channel + 1x60sec assigned to the red and green channels. Without the last frame stars would be blue. All frames were captured with the same blue filter and focused on blue. I find blue nebulas to be the most challenging.  A blue nebula is reflected starlight. So there is no way to tone down the stars while keeping the nebula. The other challenge is that with refractive optics, like the 135mm Samyang camera lens used here, blue light focuses at a different point than the rest of the spectrum. Keeping the same blue filter and the same focus position also for the red and green channels was the trick to get around this.