Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Lodestar x2 color x Atik Infinity

mystyco

Hi everyone,

I've been doing astrophotography for a couple of years now, and I want to start doing video astronomy.

I've been trying to decide which camera I should get. I have two options on the table: a Lodestar x2 Color and a Atik Infinity.

There's a huge price difference between them, so I'm trying to understand if spending €1000 in the Atik makes any sense since the Lodestar x2 color seems to have some very nice reviews?

Is there too much of a difference in terms of image resolution and sensitivity between these two? I have a Celestron 130 SLT (5'') newtonian and a Orion ST80 (4'') both on a Alt Az mount.

How about the Starlight Live software, is it easy to use ?

Looking forward for your thoughts.

Thanks in advance!

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

£1000 on the Infinity - where do you buy them from ! £800 more like. I am in a similar situation but I am stuck between X2 mono  and the Ultrastar mono. I ditched the idea of the Infinity due to the fact the Xpress camera's seemed very well supported / developed by Paul81 Starlight Live software not so sure the Infinity software is that mature (or will be). IMHO

7 minutes ago, stash_old said:

£1000 on the Infinity - where do you buy them from ! £800 more like. I am in a similar situation but I am stuck between X2 mono  and the Ultrastar mono. I ditched the idea of the Infinity due to the fact the Xpress camera's seemed very well supported / developed by Paul81 Starlight Live software not so sure the Infinity software is that mature (or will be). IMHO

Thanks for your thoughts mate. I was speaking in EUROS :) In pounds is around 800 that's correct. 

And yes, from what I've been reading, it looks like Paul's software keeps getting better, and better, and I've seen him helping members in many threads. It's just amazing to see his efforts and makes me want to support these cameras even more.