Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Starting Minimal - Part 3 - First Light (that's what you call it, right?)

Disclaimer: as stated before, absolute beginner here; total lack of wisdom compensated only by the use of the wrong term for every concept; corrective suggestions invited.

"If you're not looking through your scope with a big smile on your face, something is wrong."

Light pollution must surely be very bad here at my house - but how is a beginner such as I am to judge? Big street lights at front and back. And then there's the tree out back, and the neighbors' houses on all sides. But this is it, and the house hasn't moved an inch for a few years now, so I assume it will stay this way for years to come. At least it's a reasonably clear night. To work.

First, a survey. A short walk around the grounds (destined to be short, as the grounds aren't much) with my phone pointed skywards, Google Sky telling me what could (possibly) be seen from where, and what to forget about for now. I had practiced with Stellarium, even simulating the view I might have with my scope's aperture and focal length and my eyepieces - and how a "star hop" might work.

I set up in the front yard/garden facing South-East. That had to be Jupiter, as confirmed by Google Sky. Here we go. Insert 25mm Plossl. Remember, no finder of any kind and a camera 3-D panning head. Galileo time.