Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter from Celestron 102 SLT – am I expecting too much?

Hi, I'm new to astronomy so I'm not really sure to expect. I snapped this photo of Jupiter a couple of weeks ago by putting my iPhone upto my telescope eye piece – it's pretty much as I could see it directly through the telescope but I was hoping it would be a little bit more detailed, am I expecting too much?

Thanks,
Jonny

12628627_10156419499215291_4061327176983991960_o.jpg

Jupiter is often difficult due to conditions. I can usually make out detail with my 4" Maksutov. It is at Transit at 02:17 GMT (my location) on 11/2/16 so will be high in the sky (42.3° altitude). If it is clear and the seeing is good at around 40x you should be able to vaguely see the cloud belts (depending on light pollution levels). I can usually just see the belts at around 40x - 60x. At around 130x - 150x the white Equatorial Zone should be fairly easily discerned along with the North Equatorial and South Equatorial Belts. The North Belt can often be seen as a warmer brown colour to me. The Polar Regions and other belts can often be discerned too. When visible, and on a good night, I can see the Great Red Spot. Although conditions need to be good to see anything well with my Mak. The picture below, from Cartes du Ciel, is quite a lot larger than I see it with the Mak.

Jupiter at Transit (CDC)

56bb71f642107_Transit0217.thumb.jpg.28cf

Jupiter often needs a combination of good conditions and long patient periods of viewing to yield any real detail. You can view it for a long time and get a few moments of clarity, but the wait is often worth it. Its high albedo (intrinsic reflectivity) which makes it seem very bright coupled with the effects of the atmosphere are probably responsible for it being so difficult to observe.