Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

Geordie mc

Eye piece recommendations for lunar/planetary observing

Hi everyone. I would like to upgrade my eye pieces to something better than the cheap Celestron set I have been using for the last 6 years. I have a Celestron Edge 800 now and really want to get the best views when observing our Moon and planets. I would rather buy 1 or 2 good EP's than a few more that are only slightly better than my current set. I am also considering a better Barlow or power ate. My budget is around £500 to cover 2 EP's. The new TelVue Delights got a good review in Sky at Night magazine. Any thoughts most valued. Thanks.

If you want a wider-than-standard view and comfortable eye relief then the Tele Vue Delites, Delos or the Pentax XW's are all very much top tier performers in any scope.

If you don't mind a narrower field and shorter eyerelief Fujiyama Orthos are possibly even better optically on planetary and lunar observing.

The Vixen SLV's have a 50 degree FoV but long eye relief and are superb performers as well.

My personal choice is Ethos + Pentax XW's + Radians to fill the gaps but I'm a wide field junkie :icon_biggrin:

• Like 1

as said by john the ethos are great but you wont get 2 for your money. also at f10 (sct) you dont need top draw stuff but there nice :happy7: i used the tv naglers and sw nirvanas in my sct and they were stonkingly good

I have ended up with as set of XW's after much experimenting, un-incidentally the Moon and targets in the solar system are also my favourite targets.

As mentioned above there are some very good options available and I am sure whichever you choose you will not be disappointed.

• Like 2