Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Budget Canon lens suitable for Astrophotography

Chris

Hi everyone, I'm looking for a bit of advice regarding used budget Canon Lenses which are usuable for DSO imaging?

I've been blinkering the imaging side of astronomy for the last 18 months or so, but gave in yesterday when I saw a modded Canon 350D for sale for next to nothing. I just couldn't turn it down even though I really shouldn't be spending:iamwithstupid:

I'm quite excited about the prospect of tinkering with imaging again, although literally all I have is the pending camera, my old T-ring and programmable timer, and erm? that's it! I can't dig out enough Blu rays to sell to buy an apo, so was thinking about a cheap second hand lens. Also this would have a shorter focal length so I might get away with knocking something really rudimentary together when it comes to tracking?

It's only when I look at the Canon lenses on ebay I realise I don't have that much of a clue? These are some of the following lenses I've seen:

-Tamron 70-300mm macro Canon fit

-Canon EF 80-200mm MKII F4.5-5.6 Zoom Lens for EOS SLR's

-Sigma 28-200mm 3.5-5.6 AF DL Aspheric IF Zoom Lens Fro Canon EOS EF Film SLR (I think this might work manually with a DLSR?)

-Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 II IS Lens

Any thoughts on the above, or other suitable lenses for DSO imaging much appreciated :) 

p.s. Budget wise - hoping to spend less than £50

Many Thanks. 

• Like 1

The experts will come along shortly but NOT ONE of the lenses in your list is really suitable for AP. Zoom lenses are simply not the way to go. What you want is a fixed length 'Prime' lens.

Thus from a budget aspect a fully manual old M42 lens + adapter could easily be the way to go. (if you can find a Cold War Russian lens, keep it to yourself until you have it in your hands. ;) )

IIRC check out Happy-Kat (brain fade on forum name) but I'm sure he is using some old Takumar/Pentax lenses.

Best, Rich

• Like 2