Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How do you 'observe'?

When looking through the eyepiece, I always find that I look for up to 5 minutes before moving on to the next object on my list. This means each session is over within an hour and a half.

Recently I was reading that some people stare at the same thing for over an hour - I would never be able to do that!

I was wondering if there was a secret to it, as I really would like to make the very most of any clear skies I get.

Any advice appreciated,

Joe

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am one of those people who will spend a good length of time viewing an object. It is really true to say that for some objects, Jupiter for example, the longer you look the more you see. Fine detail is more noticeable as your eyes adapt to your target. Also you are liable to be looking when one of those rare moments of near perfect seeing occurs, however briefly. I also try to sketch the view through the eyepiece. I am no artist, but with practice you definitely find more detail.

Everyone is different. The main thing is to enjoy what you do. If you prefer quick views then make larger lists. Look for something like double stars. There are more than enough of them to keep you busy for a whole night.

45 minutes ago, Joe12345 said:

When looking through the eyepiece, I always find that I look for up to 5 minutes before moving on to the next object on my list. This means each session is over within an hour and a half.

Recently I was reading that some people stare at the same thing for over an hour - I would never be able to do that!

I was wondering if there was a secret to it, as I really would like to make the very most of any clear skies I get.

Any advice appreciated,

Joe

I do spend a good long time looking at planets when they are visible as you definitely see more the longer you look. With Jupiter in addition the moons and GRS move around relatively quickly so it's interesting to watch the changes.