Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

FIRST TIME WITH THE STARTRAVEL-120 (AZ3)

Hi to you all. I am a complete newbie. I am getting the STARTRAVEL-120 (AZ3), and need some advise. I contacted 2 dealers with conflicting advise. I told them I wanted the scope for land but also for night time views. I told the dealers I wanted something better than what would be supplied with the telescope. Both the dealers said that a Sky-Watcher Planetary 58° UWA 1.25" Eyepieces 6 or 7mm would be great for strong land views and still be ok for night sky use. Also one of the dealers suggested the 2"/50.8mm Di-electric Coated 90 degree Star Diagonal with 1.25" adaptor and a PanaView™ 2" Eyepieces 32 or 38mm would be great for night time. I want the telescope to be able to see right up close to the moons creators and hopefully go beyond. Both the dealers were conflicting on a deluxe 2x Barlow, one said it would be to dim with the big eye piece while the other said it would be fine, and also they conflicted about using a moon filter, one said you should not need one when using the 2x Barlow while the other suggested a moon filter or the Light Pollution Filters 1.25” and 2”. As you can properly tell I am now very confused as to what to get. I don't want to just be satisfied with what comes with the 120mm telescope so I want to upgrade as I order all the stuff together, that's why I want your help. Am I being told the right advise as both dealers are saying different things. Like I said I want something very powerful in the day with a quality eyepiece upgrade and a good powerful eyepiece for night sky views. I am very sorry for the long question but I need the right advise. I hope somebody can please help me and say whether I was advised correctly or can you suggest something else to aid the startravel 120mm. Thanks in advance for any advice

Regards. Dave:

• Like 1

Welcome to SGL Dave.