Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

ZWO ASI120MC-S

Hi Guys. I am very new to this subject and would appreciate any help I can get. Orion is nice and high in the southern sky at the moment and I would love to take photo`s of the horse head nebula and the great orion nebula. I have a skywatcher 130 goto scope and a ZWO ASI120MC-S CAMERA. I don`t understand about darks and lights. I have watched a video on u tube and a guy there has explained how he gets sharp images and what settings he uses but I have had little success copying he settings. Unfornunatly I do not get very dark skies where I live so perhaps this is my problem. Any help would be most appreciated. Phil.

You and me both. Iv'e had 4-5 attempts on M42 and still come away with nothing.

Darks are easy, after you have taken your lights just put the lens cap on and take a few shots using the same settings, i have been taking around 10% darks to lights.

Are you taking long enough exposures? and enough of them.

• Like 1

Hi Phil

A few things jump out. The first is the type of mount you have. The mount is the most important part. The second is the camera itself and its suitability for DSO imaging. I'll deal with them in order:

> Mount. Do you have an AltAz or Equatorial mount? If not an equatorial then tracking DSO's will be problematic due to field rotation. That being said, its possible.