SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Bresser vs. Celestron

Hullo,

is there anybody who would be able to help a newbie?

as a novice I am looking for a reasonably priced telescope (300-400). I am pretty keen on a refractor (my understanding is they have various advantages over reflectors, e.g. maintenance , planet observation etc.) . Scanning the abundance of offers I wondered whether someone can give me advice on/has experience with:

a) Bresser -Messier R102?

:lol: Celestron C4-R ?

-How do they differ?

-Would it be worthwhile to upgrade the Celestron with current offer on lenses (or is this also necessary for the Bresser)?

Any advice welcome!

:shock:

Hell Upuaut,

The C4-R is an excellent scope for the Planets i have used a friends in the past performed very well indeed. Not sure about the Bresser but i dought it will be anywere near as good as the Celestron but someone may know differently?

With 300 to 400 quid to spend i would go for a Reflector personally much aperture for your money.

James

ps:Welcome to the forum

Hi James,

thanks for this. Which reflector in this price bracket would you recommend?

I am particularly keen to have something easy to transport/store and good value-for-money. I will be using the scope in an area without lot of light pollution.

Having read some of the threads and articles, I also understand that reflectors come with increased maintenance (mirrors) . Given the need for portability isn't it better to go for a refractor?

Great forum!

Hi welcome to the forum. The increased maintainence is called "collimation" which is aligning the mirrors up with each other, its a 2 minute job and no big deal but you should be aware of it.

You get more "bang for your buck" with reflectors but obviously with being bigger they are less portable. Do you know what type of objects you prefer to view, as different scopes have different strenghts/weaknesses?

All the best

Gaz

Hi again.