Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Whats The Best Eyepiece For Viewing Mars

Hello I live in Hampshire, UK and have a Dobsonian style telescope.

I am brand new to this. go easy.

I was wondering what would be the best mm lens for viewing planets (particularly Mars and Jupiter) - I have a 10mm,  a wide angle 20mm and a Barlow Lens.

These came with the telescope and from what ive read these arnt too good for veiwing planets, ive had some amazing veiws of the moon but when i look at stars altough sometimes i can see stars through the scope that i cant see in the sky with my own eyes it is still like looking at a star, like the same size as you would expect it to be if you just looked up! so what would be the best mm eyepeice for this problem.

thanks everyone 

joel

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Astrospy, do you know the model number, we can tell from this.

You won't ever see stars as anything other than points of light, they are too far away so this is not something you can fix. Planets on the other hand can be seen with nice detail, but to recommend an eyepiece, we do need to know the scope.

The telescope looks like a Skywatcher 130/900. The aperture is 130mm and the focal length 900mm and the mount is an EQ2. There should be a black label somewhere near the focuser with this information on, In fact the label is visible in the photo. On the label will be this information F=nnn D=nnn where nnn is a number.

OK - you have an equatorially mounted Newtonian.

51cm in diameter = 20 inches, that is a big scope and not what's in your profile, more likely is it's a 5.1 inch diameter ???

Just below the focuser there is a sticker that tells you what the scope is.

Assuming it's a 5.1 inch (130mm) diameter mirror with a 900mm focal length, then ideal eyepieces are :-

Jupiter : x180 which is a 5mm eyepiece

Mars : x250 which is a 3.5mm eyepiece

Hope that helps.

** EDIT - I was typing while the other guys posted **