Complete newbie! Help needed please.

Hi I have an 'about to turn' 7 yr old son who has always been fascinated by the stars and planets and always wanted a telescope. This year for Xmas the only thing on his list to santa was a telescope. I was advised by a man in Currys to buy a Meade Polaris 76 EQ which was £100 on special offer. Neither my husband nor I have a clue how to work it and are doing our best. We managed to focus on a star last night and it became 'just a bigger light' as my son said. Are we expecting huge things that this telescope can not deliver? Or are we just not using it correctly? We haven't been able to see the moon at all from our house since Christmas to check that.

I guess the question is have we made a mistake buying a telescope for a 7yr old? Or have we just bought the wrong one? Thanks xx

The question is a tricky one. My opinion is that you haven't necessarily purchased the 'wrong scope'. It sounds like you are all beginners and that may be frustrating for you all. Also important is the expectation of the 7 year old. If the expectation is to see things as portrayed in TV or in magazines then that doesn't happen with any earth bound telescope. One suggestion from me is to check on this forum for local clubs and perhaps take your son and his scope along to a meeting. In that way you will get the best first hand advice. Trying to help you from a distance may prove difficult. I hope it works out.